Start Planning
Ostern

Ostern 2019 und 2020

Die Osterzeit ist eine bedeutsame Zeit in Österreich, wo mehr als 75 Prozent der Bevölkerung sich als Christen bezeichnen – meistens als Katholiken. Ostermontag ist ein gesetzlicher Feiertag.

JahrDatumTagFeiertag
201922. AprilMontagOstermontag
202013. AprilMontagOstermontag

Ostern zelebriert die Auferstehung Christi vom Tod. Dies historische Ereignis ist immer noch wichtig für viele, obwohl es um zweitausend Jahre zurückliegt.

Karfreitag, Ostersonntag und Ostermontag stehen im Mittelpunkt des Festes aber viele katholische Österreicher bereiten sich wochenlang mit der Fastenzeit darauf vor. Während dieser Vorbereitung beten und fasten die Menschen und setzen sich mit der irdischen Mission und der Passion Christi auseinander.

Die Fastenzeit endet mit der heiligen Osterwoche. Palmsonntag ist der Beginn der heiligen Woche, wo Jesus auf einem Esel reitend in Jerusalem einzog. Es ritten damals nur Könige auf einem Esel in eine offizielle Stadt und Jesus erklärte zu dieser Zeit selbst, dass er ein König sei. Palmzweige, verschiedene andere Zweige und sogar Weidenkätzchen, auch Palmkätzchen genannt, werden benutzt, um dies Ereignis zu feiern.

Am Ostersonntag wird anlässlich des großen Ereignisses von Jesu Auferstehung allerhand veranstaltet. Messen, Passionsspiele und ähnliche Veranstaltungen kennzeichnen diese Zeit. Ostersonntag werden Ostereier gesucht, Messen besucht und Zeit mit der Familie verbracht. Den Sonntagabend verbringen manche Menschen in fröhlicher Gesellschaft mit anderen, oft an Osterfeuern mit Tanz und Gesang.

In Österreich mischen sich bei den Osterfeierlichkeiten weltliche und christliche Traditionen. Obgleich viele Österreicher römisch-katholisch sind, nehmen etliche nicht an einer Messe teil und beachten auch nicht die Fastenzeit. Dennoch beteiligen sich die meisten Menschen an Osteraktivitäten. Überall im Land sind Ostereier von großer Bedeutung. Die Leute lieben es, bunte Ostereier aller Art zu kreieren, zum Essen und zur Dekoration in kunterbunten Farben und vielen Größen.

Accept

Start Planning
Easter

Easter 2019 and 2020

Easter is a significant time in Austria where more than 75 per cent of the population still identifies as Christian – mostly as Catholic. A national holiday is observed each year on Easter Monday.

Year Date Day Holiday
2019 22 Apr Mon Easter Monday
2020 13 Apr Mon Easter Monday

Easter is a celebration of the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead. This historic event, although it occurred nearly two thousand years ago, is still relevant to many today.

While there is special focus on Good Friday, Easter Sunday and Easter Monday, many Catholic Austrians have been preparing themselves for this time weeks before at the beginning of Lent. This word is Latin and means preparation. The preparation refers to a time of people praying and fasting as they consider Jesus’ earthly ministry and His Passion.

The time of Lent ends with Holy Week. Palm Sunday is the beginning of Holy Week where Jesus entered into Jerusalem riding on a donkey. The significance of this was that only kings would ride a donkey into an official city, and Jesus declared at that time that He was a king. Palm branches, various varieties of vegetation or even pussy willows are used to celebrate this event.

There is quite a buildup to the big event of Jesus’ resurrection on Easter Sunday. Masses, Passion plays and many other similar events mark this time. Easter Sunday is seen as a time to have egg bake, attend mass and spend time with family. Sunday evening can be spent with other people who have created bonfires as they dance and sing around the fire.

It is important to keep in mind that Austrians mix secular aspects to this Christian celebration. While many Austrians are Roman Catholic, a number of them do not attend Mass or observe the fasting that is frequently attributed to the time of Lent. Still, many do participate in many Easter activities. Easter eggs are featured heavily in the country. People love to spend time creating and designing Easter eggs of all different kinds of shapes and sizes.